Inner Circle

唐山的重新崛起

经历了昔日的磨难,唐山早已复活新生,迈向灿烂的未来。

唐山的重新崛起
唐山被称为中国的勇敢之城,多年来发展迅猛,业已成为拥有300多万人口的重要城市,搭乘火车不需一小时即可到达北京,亦邻近港口城市天津和秦皇岛。

吸引着无数游客到访北京的一大热点,是北京老城区内那些独特而古老的胡同。在许多绿荫掩映的小巷内,分布着大大小小四方形的院落,称为四合院。其建筑古朴秀美,中间是敞阔的院子。不过,由于离北京东面100里之外一座小城唐山所发生的天灾,这些院子都被改造成临时居所和庇护所。1976年7月27日,唐山城发生了大地震,灾民们纷纷涌向北京,许多四合院成了灾民们的落脚地。这些临时庇护所最终发展成家居住宅,并永久性地改变了北京老胡同区的风貌。

从悲痛到欢乐

今天的唐山规模庞大,其坚强和自信的特质更令人赞叹。唐山被称为「中国的勇敢之城」,多年来发展迅猛,业已成为拥有300多万人口的重要城市,搭乘火车不需一小时即可到达北京,亦邻近港口城市天津和秦皇岛。唐山已摆脱了昔日的伤痛和阴影,并在市内南部兴建了规模宏伟的唐山大地震纪念园。

纪念园的原址是工厂区,火车棚被毁坏后只剩下扭曲的框架,包括弯曲的火车车轨等,人们觉得应保留在原地,并在其周围建起了纪念园。在园内四处参观,感觉既宁静,又充满了忧郁。高耸的大理石板环绕着纪念园,上面镌刻着每位遇难者的姓名,地面上的玻璃嵌板中展示着原先埋藏于碎石瓦砾中的儿童玩具,它们都是在兴建纪念园时挖掘出来的。

唐山亦盛情邀请到访者们细心探索这里久远而辉煌的历史,一些历史古迹如清东陵已名列联合国教科文组织的世界历史遗址。清东陵是清朝皇帝、皇后和妃嫔的安葬之地,距离唐山市中心约一小时车程,占地30多平方里,坐拥天然森林,其内分布着墓丘、宫殿和两旁雕像林立的「神明之路」。著名的慈禧太后即安葬于此,她虽然从未正式登基称帝,实际上却掌握了中国的统治大权长达45年。东清陵内最华丽的陵墓当属清朝第四代皇帝—乾隆帝之陵。他的陵墓深埋于地下50米,拥有一系列九座墓穴,墓穴之间以坚固的大理石门隔开。

墙内之城

燕山绵延耸立于中国华北平原之上,拥有许多清朝的文化宝藏。明代长城的东段建于中国建造城墙最兴盛的年代,高踞于燕山上。该段长城以坚固的花岗岩和石块建成,它的城垛与西段以泥石而建的城垛相比要牢固得多。在这段长城上,有几处经过整修后如今已为游人开放。与北京的长城段相比,这里的长城并不那么有名,但景色同样壮观,游人们可在此不受熙熙攘攘人流的打扰,尽情欣赏长城的美景。

白羊峪是长城景色最优美的地段之一,这一段长城多以白色大理石建造而成,在燕山连绵不断的山脊线的衬托下,显得格外优美动人,素有「大理石长城」之美誉。明朝著名的戚继光将军曾驻军于此,建于此段长城上的瞭望塔壮观威严,这里的防御优势得天独厚,是整座长城中最宏伟的建筑之一。

离此不远的潘家口长城是地理位置险要的通道,曾是加固完善的明代长城要塞。1975年,滦河筑坝,由此形成了潘家口水库,淹没了该段长城的一部分,并产生了独特的游览景观—水下长城。Sino Scuba提供配备向导的潜游之旅,潜入昏暗的水下,观赏「中国石龙」在水下的壮丽景观,别有一番风味。

回到陆地,唐山的最新地标无疑是唐山香格里拉大酒店。这座豪华精美的酒店拥有301间雅致的客房和套房,深受时尚旅行者的喜爱。酒店的设计从唐山丰富的文化与历史中汲取灵感,突出唐山作为华北陶瓷之都的特色,其餐饮中亦融入了许多当地独有的美食传统。唐凰阁中餐厅推出一系列经典及现代中国地方佳肴,包括香酥美味的北京烤鸭,精选的肥鸭经过水果木材的烘烤,在客人的餐桌旁现场切开,香脆的鸭皮包入蒸面饼中,佐以李子酱,堪称人间美味。

如果你热爱国际美食的话,何不前往酒店的香啡阁?那里全天供应环球佳肴,其自助早餐也丰盛无比。入住豪华阁楼层的客人还可于23楼的贵宾廊免费享用咖啡和点心,每晚还可畅饮鸡尾酒,品尝美味小点。置身于贵宾廊,透过宽大的落地玻璃窗,唐山灿烂的城市天际线尽现眼前,让人感慨于这座勇敢之城的劫后重生。经历了三十年前的那场浩劫后,唐山以坚强的毅力,走出了悲痛的阴影,正迈向欢乐的未来。

 

 请即预订唐山香格里拉大酒店 回到灵感飞翔 

未有留言

 
 
留言只限贵宾金环会会员,请先从以下登录。如你未成为会员,现在就登记入会
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.3303 s

Inner Circle

The Rise of Tangshan

Uncovering the turbulent tale of Tangshan, a city that has moved beyond its past in search of a glorious future.

The Rise of Tangshan
China’s Brave City, as it is known, is a prosperous urban centre of over three million people, less than an hour by train to Beijing and close to the port cities of Tianjin and Qinhuangdao.

One of the most beguiling tourist draws to the Chinese capital of Beijing is its ancient warren of hutong alleyways that crisscross the city’s historic centre. Within these tree-shaded lanes are thousands of grand quadrangle courtyard homes called siheyuan which are composed of decorative Chinese buildings spaced around a large central garden. At least, they used to be, but for a tragedy that unfolded in a small city 100 miles away to the east. In the wake of the earthquake that struck the city of Tangshan on 27 July 1976, Beijing ordered the infilling of the decorative siheyuan gardens with shacks, shelters and makeshift housing to shelter and re-house refugees that drifted towards the capital. These would eventually evolve into homes, changing the look of the capital city’s old hutong areas forever.

From Tragedy to Triumph

Today, Tangshan has emerged bigger, stronger and more confident than ever before. “China’s Brave City”, as it is known, is a prosperous urban centre of over three million people, less than an hour by train to Beijing and close to the port cities of Tianjin and Qinhuangdao. The city has come to terms with its tragic recent past by fashioning the moving and spectacular Tangshan Earthquake Memorial Park in the south of the city.

A former factory zone, it was elected that the twisted skeletons of the destroyed locomotive sheds, including warped and bent railway tracks, should be left in situ and the memorial built around it. It was a peaceful, sombre experience, with towering marble slabs surrounding the site bearing the names of every victim, while glass panels on the floor reveal objects like children’s toys that were discovered buried under rubble during the park’s construction.

Despite this, Tangshan is keen to invite visitors to discover the glories of its less recent history, like the Eastern Qing Tombs, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, where the emperors, empresses and concubines of the Qing Dynasty, China’s last imperial dynasty, lie buried. An hour’s drive outside the city, the complex stretches over 30 square miles of pristine woodland landscape inset with burial mounds, palaces and the statue-lined ‘spirit way’. Here is where notorious Empress Cixi was buried, the de facto ruler of China for 45 years, though she never actually ascended the throne. The most splendid tomb belongs to the Qianlong Emperor, the fourth of the dynasty, whose royal chamber is laid out over a series of nine vaults separated by solid marble doors over 50 metres underground.

Walled City

The Yan Mountains, rising above the North China plain over Tangshan, are home to an equally stunning cultural treasure fortified in the previous dynasty. The Eastern portion of the Ming Great Wall, the greatest era of China’s wall-building, soars across the high ridgelines of these dramatic mountains. Built from sturdy granite and brick, its battlements have endured far better than the tamped earthwork walls further west. A number of sites have been restored and opened to visitors along this route. More isolated than the famous battlements of Beijing, though no less spectacular, visitors can expect to have the Tangshan Great Wall all to themselves. 

Baiyangyu (White Sheep Valley) is one of the most visually arresting stretches of Great Wall and also known as the “marble Great Wall” due to the way it has been constructed across seams of white rock that burst through the sheer ridgelines of mountains. Engineered by Qi Jiguang, a celebrated Ming general, the imposing watchtowers along this stretch, equipped with unique defensive features, are some of the mightiest across the whole Great Wall.

Nearby, Panjiakou Great Wall, a strategically important pass, was once the site of a well-fortified Ming Dynasty fortress. In 1975, the Luanhe River was dammed and the Panjiakou Reservoir created, submerging parts of the wall and creating a unique local tourist attraction, the Underwater Great Wall. Sino Scuba offers guided diving trips that explore the murky depths to present a vision of China’s “stone dragon” in the most unlikely of settings.

Back on dry land, the newest addition to the Tangshan landscape is undoubtedly Shangri-La Hotel, Tangshan, the finest hotel in the city offering 301 elegant guestrooms and suites for the contemporary traveller. Drawing inspiration from the cultural achievements of Tangshan, including a decorative nod to the city’s heritage as a northern centre of porcelain production, the hotel also celebrates some unique food traditions in this part of China. The chefs at Tang Huang Ge roast a wonderfully crisp-skinned Peking Duck alongside a range of classic and modern regional Chinese dishes. Roasted over fruit wood, carved tableside according to tradition and served with accoutrements, including Steamed Wheat Pancakes and Plum Sauce, Tang Huang Ge’s Peking Duck is easily the rival of any from the ovens of Beijing. 

For those seeking a more international experience, Café Shang offers an all-day gastronomic journey through the world’s most celebrated cuisines, as well as playing host to the hotel’s generous buffet breakfast. Guests staying in the Horizon rooms can enjoy their morning coffee and croissant from the Horizon Club Lounge on the 23rd floor, as well as complimentary cocktails and canapés every evening. Offering stunning views of the new city skyline through floor-to-ceiling windows, you might feel inspired to take a moment and marvel at the rebirth of this proud city. Clearly, Tangshan has worked tirelessly to turn tragedy into triumph, in memory of the many who lost their lives on that fateful day three short decades ago.


 Make a booking at Shangri-La Hotel, Tangshan Back to Inspiration 

There are no comments yet

To leave comments, you must be a Golden Circle member so sign in below. If you are not already a member, sign up now.
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.4479 s