Inner Circle

起点之城

Jordan Hu在成都畅游四日,了解成都最遐迩闻名的火锅和熊猫背后的故事。

起点之城
我很惊讶地发现,原来成都还是丝绸之路南线的起点。

一提到成都,人们首先想到的往往是火锅和熊猫。在成都游玩的这几日中,我发现成都的辉煌历史可追溯到丝绸之路,甚至可追溯到中国唯一的原创宗教 - 道教的起源。不过,游览成都,当然要从观赏大熊猫开始。

鉴于大熊猫生存环境受到威胁,大熊猫的数量急剧减少,中国政府特别设立了世界首个大熊猫保护计划。位于都江堰、雅安和卧龙的三大熊猫保护基地齐心协力,紧密合作,共同救援及繁殖熊猫,并在时机成熟时将它们放归大自然。

自然之旅

到达成都后的第一天,成都香格里拉大酒店的服务人员已为我安排了前往都江堰大熊猫保护基地一游。刚从华盛顿Smithsonian动物园归来的熊猫幼崽「宝宝」目前就栖息于此。虽然这次因为宝宝还在隔离期中没能见着,但我的第一次熊猫基地之游仍令我印象极为深刻。

基地的30只大熊猫有的单独住在以石墙分隔的庭园中,有的则与兄弟姊妹同住。每个庭园内都有一个小池塘、轮胎制成的秋千、供熊猫攀爬的大树,以及许多新鲜竹子和特制的「熊猫面包」供它们享用。这天阳光明媚,熊猫们或在草地上享受着阳光的爱抚,慵懒地打盹,或大口吃着竹子,顺便与兄弟姐妹们玩耍打闹。有一只年轻的熊猫还爬到树的顶端,滑下来之后再攀爬上去,最后以掌托腮,坐着就睡着了,宛若一个在课堂中无聊得打瞌睡的学生,让人忍俊不禁。

熊猫保护基地座落于竹林的环抱中,幽静安宁,让我也不免感觉有些睡意。毗邻此地的青城山安静宜人,在山中随处可以听见鸟儿的歌声和树叶在风的吹拂下发出的沙沙声。难怪中国道教的创始人张道陵在青城山的河畔与林间感悟出道教的真谛,并在山洞中向门徒们传授道教教义。张道陵称其在梦中与老子会晤,并藉此发起了天师道教团运动,一时间于四川北部雄踞一方,建立起一个庞大的独立王国。

丝绸之路的起点

在成都的第二天,我一早来到了市中心天府广场旁的成都博物馆。这座规模宏大的建筑从外观来看,仿佛是由上千个铜制金字塔构成的一个不完整的长方体,非常奇特。博物馆共分六层,向世人们展示了成都自青铜器时期以来4000多年的辉煌历史,其间跨越了诸多不同的朝代,直到今日的现代化发展。

我很惊讶地发现,原来成都还是丝绸之路南线的起点。公元前125年,中国的使者张骞出访世界其他各国,据说在如今的阿富汗地区,曾发现来自四川的丝绸,由此证实了丝绸之路南部贸易线的存在。该线路自中国西南地区开始直至中东地区,途经缅甸、孟加拉和印度。

火锅中的历史

火锅其实是丝绸之路南线上往来的贸易商人们发明的一项美食。他们在途中遇到彼此时,会将随身携带的食物贡献出来,放在一个明火上的大锅内烹煮,所以称为「火锅」。如今,鲜香麻辣的火锅早已成为川菜的标志,在成都所有的大街小巷都可以找到。

参观了博物馆之后,我搭乘出租车穿过城区来到五块石市场,领略不同文化的对比和融合。装满了四川花椒的大包叠得极高,旁边是来自印度的巨大豆蔻卷。在露天仓库内,一包包香料和茶叶堆放有序,一桌人正在热闹地打麻将,孩子们在追打玩耍,家人们则在一起吃家常午餐。

茶叶也是通过丝绸之路流传到中国的,如今已成为成都文化的一个重要组成部分。成都还以悠然闲适的生活方式而闻名,当地人尤其喜爱各式各样的休闲活动。成都人典型的休闲午后包括品茶、打麻将或打牌,然后再品茶,成都的茶楼如同火锅餐厅一样无处不在。

在成都的最后一天,我和一群老人一起在人民公园品味香茗。据说老人们常常在此聚会,唱唱戏曲,或者跳跳广场舞。在清新四溢的茶香中,我不禁联想到古久的丝绸之路,沉湎于成都的悠久历史中……

 以低至3500分贵宾金环会奖励积分,即可兑换一晚入住成都香格里拉大酒店,至少两晚入住。 回到灵感飞翔 

未有留言

 
 
留言只限贵宾金环会会员,请先从以下登录。如你未成为会员,现在就登记入会
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.2828 s

Inner Circle

The City of Beginnings

Jordan Hu spends four days in Chengdu to learn about the stories behind the city’s pride and joy: hotpot and pandas.

The City of Beginnings
I was surprised to learn that Chengdu was, in fact, the launching point of the Silk Road’s Southern Route.

When you think of Chengdu, the first things that probably come to mind are pandas and hotpot. During my few days in the capital of Sichuan, I discovered that this city’s significance dates back to the Silk Road and even further to the birth of Daoism, the only religion to originate from China. But the pandas are a good start in this city of many beginnings.

In response to the panda’s rapid loss of habitat and declining numbers, the Chinese government established the world’s first panda conservation programme. The three bases in Duijiangyan, Ya’an and Wolong work together as one unit to rescue, breed and release pandas back into the wild. 

Walk on the Wild Side

On my first day in Chengdu, the staff at Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu arranged a tour for me to the Dujiangyan Panda Base, the rescue centre and current home of Bao Bao, the female giant panda cub that just returned from the Smithsonian Zoo in Washington DC. I didn’t get to see the famous cub on my first visit as she was being quarantined, but I could not have asked for a better first panda experience.

The 30 pandas at the base either have their own stone enclosure or share one with a sibling. Each enclosure comes complete with a small pond, a tire swing, trees to climb and plenty of bamboo and special “panda bread” to eat. The sun was out and they were all napping in sunny spots on the grass, eating bamboo shoots off their bellies and wrestling with their siblings. The highlight of the day was watching a young panda climb to the topmost branch of a tree, slip slightly before correcting himself then fall asleep sitting upright with his head on his paw like a bored college student in a lecture.

The peaceful atmosphere of the bamboo forests surrounding the panda base was even making me feel sleepy. At Qing Cheng Mountain, a literal stone’s throw away, it was so quiet all I could hear were birds chirping and the sound of rustling leaves from the tall trees overhead. It was very easy to imagine Zhang Dao Ling, founder of the first organized form of Daoism, contemplating the Dao by the riverside or teaching students in one of the many caves in the mountain. After claiming that Laozi appeared to him in a dream, Zhang established the Way of the Celestial Masters movement and for a time, governed a completely independent society in the north of Sichuan.

The start of the Silk Road

The second day of my trip began at the Chengdu Museum located next to Tianfu Square in the city centre. The massive building looks as if it is made out of thousands of bronze pyramids fitted together to form an incomplete cuboid. It houses six stories of exhibits that trace Chengdu’s history over 4,000 years to the Bronze Age, covering the different dynasties and the city’s modern history.

I was surprised to learn that Chengdu was, in fact, the launching point of the Silk Road’s Southern Route. In 125 BC, Zhang Qian, China’s envoy to the rest of the world, reportedly found cloth from Sichuan in present day Afghanistan and discovered the existence of a southern trade route. The route connected the southwest of China to the Middle East by way of Myanmar, Bangladesh and India.

History in a hotpot

Hotpot was actually a dish developed by traders along the southern route. When travellers met each other along the way, they would take whatever ingredients they were carrying and combine them in a big pot over a wooden fire, hence the name “hotpot.” Today, this bubbling pot of numbing spiciness is a symbol of Sichuan cuisine and can be seen on every street corner in Chengdu.

From learning of Chengdu’s pivotal role in the Silk Road, I took a taxi across town to examine the impact of this cross-cultural exchange at the Wukuaishi Market. Here human-sized bags of Sichuan peppercorn rest next to huge scrolls of cinnamon from India. In between bags of spices and tea in this open-air warehouse, I saw a game of mahjong being played, children running about and families eating lunch together.

Tea, another commodity introduced to China by way of the Silk Road, is a huge part of the Chengdu culture. In China, the city is famous for its laidback attitude and the people’s love of leisure activities. An afternoon well spent for a Chengdu native consists of tea, a game of mahjong or cards and some more tea. Just like hotpot restaurants, teashops are ubiquitous.

For my final day in the city, I enjoyed a cup of tea at People’s Park alongside the senior citizens who congregate there for Chinese opera and line dancing. In between sips of tea, I pondered the many beginnings of this city. To think that the tea leaves swirling in my cup were the result of an ancient trade route was enough to occupy my mind for the entire afternoon. 

 Book a two-night stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu from just 3,500 GC Award Points per night Back to Inspiration 

There are no comments yet

 
 
To leave comments, you must be a Golden Circle member so sign in below. If you are not already a member, sign up now.
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.3557 s