Inner Circle

游牧族的大地

内蒙古的包头有着蓝天白云和纯净的自然美景,其深厚的历史文化更等待着你的探索。

游牧族的大地
被绿色草原包围的响沙湾沙漠,据说当人们顺着沙山往下滑时,会听到犹如飞机掠空而过的轰鸣声,响沙湾因此得名。

在内蒙古最大城市包头的几里之外,我们生平第一次看到了毡帐。星星点点的白雪覆盖的高原,在内蒙古境内绵延1000公里,这就是著名的阴山。这些毡帐环抱着阴山起伏的山麓,是温馨的流动家园,从成吉思汗时代起就已经在此驻扎了。

文化圣地

与毡帐相比,我们所处之地更稳固、更富文化气息。五当召寺坐落于包头以北70公里处一个寂静的山谷中,是内蒙古最大的藏教佛寺。该寺建于250年前的清朝,其建筑和教义均效仿15世纪由首位达赖喇嘛建成的西藏扎什伦布寺。寺外飘扬着经幡,清冽的高山空气中弥漫着熏香的气息。信步于佛堂和僧居,仿佛历经了一场独特的精神之旅。寺内仍然居住着近60位身穿茶色僧袍的僧人,每天清晨游客到来之前,他们早已开始诵读经文了。

五当召寺也是包头日渐成为国内外主要旅游目的地的原因之一。这里有清新的空气、纯净的蓝天和辽阔的草原,大自然美景令人陶醉。包头坐落于浩瀚的黄河之畔一片丰饶的平原上,动植物自然资源极其丰富,19世纪时这里曾是皮毛贸易中心,如今则发展成为生态保护区。

两千多年前的三国时期,这片碧绿、晴朗的土地备受青睐,众所争夺,因此中国最早的长城之一就在此兴建,以保卫当时的赵国。这座古老城垛的遗迹至今仍然可以看到,由夯实的泥土构成,仿佛横贯阴山的一条不起眼的疤痕。游览了五当召寺后,我们返回包头城,并在回程中顺道参观了骑在马背上的勇士雕像—赵王。雕像是现代建成的,傲立于路旁,以纪念他兴建的这一段长城。如今的这段长城更像是高于地面的一条路径,白雪覆盖,在空旷的高原上绵延数公里。

草原之城

依靠大力发展钢铁制造业和稀土矿业,今天的包头道路宽阔,林木成荫,一派繁荣景象,人们的生活悠闲自如。但与此同时,包头仍然保持着大草原的特质,打造了独特的“城中草原”。这是专为散步和骑单车的人们特意准备的一片绿地,上百头鹿在此栖息,让包头更名符其实(包头在蒙古语中意为“鹿之地”)。“赛汗塔拉城中草原”内还设有毡帐餐厅,提供传统的游牧族美味,冬天你还可以在这里的滑雪山上大显身手。

包头香格里拉大酒店距离城中草原仅数分钟车程。这是包头最豪华的国际酒店,从楼层较高的豪华阁可尽情饱览北部群山的风姿。包头香格里拉大酒店也是当地品味精致佳肴最热门的去处之一,拥有两间屡获殊荣的餐厅,由意大利大厨Francesco Rizzo主理。他会说中文,个性十足,是当地餐饮界倍受瞩目的人物。馨咖啡提供种类丰富的环球美食,香宫中餐厅则奉上特色粤菜以及本地风味佳馔,手绘木盘盛着的孜然羊肋排入口即化,让人赞不绝口。

对包头大多数当地人而言,每天早晨最喜爱的早餐莫过于那热气腾腾、高尔夫球大小的烧卖,内馅由羊肉、生姜和绿洋葱组成,肉味香浓、美味无比。全城各地都可以找到烧卖,但最受欢迎的是极薄面皮的烧卖。跟一笼蒸烧卖最搭配的当属一壶砖茶,略带苦味的黑茶压制成几何板形状,风味十足,健康方便,几百年来深受游牧族人的喜爱。

包头的烧卖虽然诱人,这里的羊肉火锅才是远近最知名的风味美食。包头是小肥羊火锅的发源地,如今的小肥羊已是全球性的连锁品牌,其餐厅分布于美国、日本、英国和韩国等。小肥羊在包头深受人们喜爱,大家携家带友地去品尝。羊肉和牛肉削成晶莹的薄片,和其它各类美味一起,在热腾腾的火锅里一涮即成,鲜嫩无比。  

探索大自然

饱尝了暖人心田的蒙古风味大餐之后,何不去包头附近的自然景点一游?跨越黄河往南驱车不久,即来到响沙湾沙漠。这是一片被绿色草原包围的沙漠,据说当人们顺着沙山往下滑时,会听到犹如飞机掠空而过的轰鸣声,响沙湾因此得名。科学家们至今对此响声不得其解。喜欢寻求刺激的人们可以顺着高达90米的沙丘下滑。在这里骑骆驼或骑马来一次沙海探奇,也让人久久难忘。

尽管包头已是欣欣向荣的现代城市,包头人仍以他们的游牧民族历史而骄傲,并努力维护它的自然风貌。人口占大多数的汉族人与本地蒙古族人和谐共处,文化相融,道路和商店均有汉语及蒙古语标识。当地人至今还保留着祖先流传下来的风俗:喝茶时加盐,这在中国其它地区是闻所未闻的。这也是包头之所以如此特别的另一大原因吧!

 请即预订包头香格里拉大酒店 回到灵感飞翔 

未有留言

 
 
留言只限贵宾金环会会员,请先从以下登录。如你未成为会员,现在就登记入会
  • Queries: 1
  • Query Time: 0.0084 s
  • Overall render: 1.4114 s

Inner Circle

Nomad’s Land

Baotou in Inner Mongolia offers blue skies, pristine nature and cultural discovery for the adventurous traveller.

Nomad’s Land
Draped in fluttering prayer flags, incense sweetening the brisk alpine air, a wander among its prayer halls and monks’ residences is a uniquely spiritual experience.

A few miles out of Baotou, the largest city in Inner Mongolia, we saw our first yurts. Hugging the rolling foothills of the Yin Mountains, a snow-dusted plateau that cuts a 1,000-kilometre swathe through the province, these cosy, portable homesteads have endured here since the days of Genghis Khan. 

Cultural Pilgrimage

Ours was a pilgrimage to somewhere far grander and more permanent. The Wudangzhao Lamasery, in a lonely mountain valley 70 kilometres north of Baotou, is the largest Tibetan Buddhist temple in Inner Mongolia. Constructed 250 years ago during the Qing Dynasty, it owes architectural and spiritual allegiance to the magnificent Tashilhunpo Lamasery in Tibet, founded by the first Dalai Lama in the 15th century. Draped in fluttering prayer flags, incense sweetening the brisk alpine air, a wander among its prayer halls and monks’ residences is a uniquely spiritual experience. It’s still home to about 60 maroon-robed monks who study the scriptures every morning at dawn, long before the first tourists arrive.

The Wundangzhao Lamasery is one of many reasons why Baotou is increasingly the target of tourists from China and beyond. With fresh air and nature in abundance, it’s a land of sweeping grassland vistas and blue skies. Situated on the fertile plains of the mighty Yellow River, the city developed as a settlement relatively recently; its abundant wildlife made it a centre for the fur trade in the 19th century.

More than 2,000 years earlier, this green and cloudless land was so prized that one of the earliest of China’s Great Walls was built to defend the kingdom of Zhao during the Warring States period. Remains of these ancient battlements can still be found, an almost imperceptible scar of tamped earth cutting through the Yin Mountains. Returning to the city after our visit to the Wudangzhou Lamasery, we stopped at a statue of a mounted warrior, King Zhao himself, erected in modern times by the roadside to mark a stretch of his wall. Now little more than a raised path on the landscape, revealed by a crown of snow, it stretches for miles over the empty plateau.

Grassland City

Today, the city has grown prosperous from steel production and rare-earth minerals, with wide, leafy boulevards and an unhurried pace of life. However, the grassland doesn’t stop at the city limits. It boasts its own unique expanse of ‘inner-city grassland’, a green haven for walkers and cyclists, and home to hundreds of deer that give Baotou (‘place of deer’ in Mongolian) its name. The Saihantala Inner City Grassland also features yurt restaurants serving traditional nomad dishes and a ski hill in the winter months.

A short taxi ride from this unique public space is Shangri-La Hotel, Baotou, the city’s most luxurious accommodation, its upper floors on the Horizon Club level affording spectacular views north to the mountains. One of the city’s most popular destinations for high-end cuisine, the hotel has two acclaimed dining outlets under the stewardship of Italian Executive Chef Francesco Rizzo, a Chinese speaker and colourful local personality. Xin Café ( dishes up a global spread of gastronomy, while Shang Palace serves Cantonese specialities alongside the hotel’s luxurious take on local cuisine, like meltingly soft Cumin-Spiced Lamb Ribs served on hand-painted wooden trays.

For more everyday fare, most locals start the day with the city’s best-loved breakfast: steamed, golf-ball sized shaomai dumplings filled with lamb, ginger and green onions. Gamey, rich and delicious, they can be found all over town, but the most sought-after have pastry skins so thin that they are almost translucent. A steamer of shaomai is almost always accompanied by a pot of zhuan cha (brick tea), a bitter black tea compressed into geometric slabs that is favoured by nomadic people over the centuries for its taste, health benefits and portability. 

While Baotou is rightly acclaimed for its shaomai, lamb hotpot shines as the city’s greatest culinary star. Baotou is home to the original Little Sheep Hot Pot restaurant, now a global culinary brand with outlets as far afield as the US, Japan, the UK and South Korea. However, most Baotou locals swear allegiance to the newer Xiao Wei Yang chain; families and friends visit in droves for the delectable lamb and beef, sliced wafer thin and cooked at the table along with countless other fixings in cauldrons of bubbling soup.

Natural Discovery

After a hearty Inner Mongolian feast, the natural landscape around Baotou provides ample opportunities to burn off the calories. A short drive south across the Yellow River, the Xiangshawan Desert is a vast, sandy playground known as the ‘singing sands’ that produces a peculiar noise – some say like a car engine, others croaking frogs – when disturbed; scientists don’t yet understand why. Thrill-seekers can slide down the soaring 90-metre-high dunes on sleds. There are also camel and horse rides for a more sedate sand dune experience. 

Though theirs is a thriving modern city, Baotou folk are proud of the region’s nomadic past and its close association with the landscape. The city manages to strike a pleasing cultural balance between the largely Han Chinese population and its Mongol roots. Street signs and shops are inscribed with both Chinese and Mongolian, but there’s an even bigger clue that shows folk here hold the local customs close to their heart: they take salt with their tea, a practice unheard of almost anywhere else in China. Another reason that makes Baotou just that little bit special.

 Make a booking at Shangri-La Hotel, Baotou Back to Inspiration 

Showing 1 comment

  1. Yy: 2 years, 4 months ago

    What a great! I didn't know "The Wudangzhao Lamasery", also have a mystic atmosphere... would like to go very much, but take a long drive from hotel.

To leave comments, you must be a Golden Circle member so sign in below. If you are not already a member, sign up now.
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.3940 s