Inner Circle

玩转新加坡

Yeoh Siew Hoon 再次体验狮城的无穷乐趣。

玩转新加坡
博物馆周围的区域、艺术画廊和艺术院校均在夜色中闪耀着璀璨的灯光。

在各种旅行间隙中,我常常会休息一段时间,在家里住上一阵子。正是这种时候,让我惊喜发现原来家的附近就有许多精彩之处。

新加坡的幅员并不辽阔,但拥有丰富多彩的活动和设施,当然还有遐迩闻名的美味佳肴。虽然我是个不折不扣的美食爱好者,不过在此我不会讨论新加坡的美食领域。此次住在家中,我做的第一件事,是先去查询近期有什么活动和节目。今年,我参加了新加坡国际艺术节的尾声节目,留下了很深的印象。国际艺术节近年来无论是规模还是活动内容均有相当出色的发展,为人们展现了本地、区域和国际性的艺术杰作。 

我终于买到了抢购一空的Peter Pan演出门票。该剧由Berliner Ensemble、Robert Wilson和CocoRosie主演并制作,是关于Peter Pan长大后的故事。整剧精彩、幽默,又带着些许古灵精怪,看完后我感慨良多 - 人如果不用长大该是多么美好啊!其实,作为一个马不停蹄的旅者,又何尝不是要时刻保持一颗童心呢!

Singapore Night Festival到今年已是第七个年头。这次,我花了一晚上的时间漫步于艺术和历史遗址区,尽情欣赏这场光影盛宴。博物馆周围的区域、艺术画廊和艺术院校均在夜色中闪耀着璀璨的灯光。八月的两个周末期间,还有许多地点上演精彩的光影秀。当然,其间还开设了诸多露天食铺,一家名为“旅牛”的大排档卖的汉堡包味道相当不错。原来设计巧妙的灯光能让建筑和树木瞬间变身,在光影的掩映下,新加坡艺术博物馆的外墙上仿佛正下着暴雨,新加坡国立博物馆的树丛间有各种面庞时隐时现,真是令人大开眼界。

大多数人觉得新加坡高效有序,又紧张繁忙,一切似乎都与商务有关。我很高兴地看到,新加坡正愈来愈展现出她有趣、欢快的一面。随着新加坡对艺术和创意的日益重视及鼓励,相信这有趣、欢快的一面会更加淋漓尽致地展现于世人眼前。注重于艺术和创意,将令新加坡成为工作、生活和玩乐更理想的目的地。

当然,别忘了新加坡还有一年一度的世界第一方程式大赛,这是全球唯一的夜间赛车盛事,于每年九月在新加坡举行。看来今年的赛事会比以往安静很多,因为会降低将近50%的噪音度。有些人不喜欢太安静的赛车,觉得听不到赛车的噪音就少了许多惊心动魄的刺激;不过考虑到对环境的影响,我倒是很赞成这项改变。 

我很喜爱方程式大赛期间的那个周末,不是因为赛车,而是因为在赛场外举办的音乐会和各类活动。今年,我去观看了Pet Shop Boys的演唱会,期间最令人兴奋的是Robbie Williams的出色表演。他刚张口唱第一句的时候,忽然下起了热带暴雨,不过他和他的乐队体现了非凡的专业精神,在闪电雷鸣和狂风骤雨中,为他的粉丝们奉上了一场精彩无比的演出,的确不愧为流行乐天王。

作为此次新加坡本地游的尾声,我来到了新近揭幕的新加坡乌节门今旅。对Hotel Jen(今旅)这个香格里拉酒店集团最新创立的品牌,我耳闻已久,早就想好好领略一下这间Hotel Jen(今旅)品牌在全球开设的首家酒店。步入酒店,我旋即被她休闲、时尚的气质所吸引,这里的设计与装潢简约而不夸张。大堂内还有一个外带早餐店,为那些行程匆匆的客人们考虑周到。一座仿似iPad屏幕的巨型 Monscierge竖立于大堂内,为你提供酒店内和附近地区的相关资讯,你还能通过它在社交媒体上与朋友们分享你的地点。

酒店最大的亮点是楼顶游泳池Baywatch@Jen,共由三座泳池组成,由此放眼望去,新加坡最著名的购物街 - 乌节路的繁华胜景一览无遗,这在新加坡实属难得。乌节路上商店和活动精彩纷呈,但已经很久没有新的成员了,相信Hotel Jen是长久以来乌节路上首家新开的酒店,为整个区域带来了崭新的活力。从十月份开始,每月第一个周六,部分乌节路将不再通车,成为“无车日”。 

此外,Singapore Writers Festival也将于今年10月31日至11月8日举行,我届时还会主持一个与人气旅行作家Paul Theroux的见面会,非常期待!

我们新加坡再见!

 请即预订新加坡乌节门今旅 回到心语 

未有留言

 
 
留言只限贵宾金环会会员,请先从以下登录。如你未成为会员,现在就登记入会
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.4592 s

Inner Circle

When Singapore Comes Out to Play

Yeoh Siew Hoon experiences the fun side of the Lion City.

When Singapore Comes Out to Play
The event saw the precinct around the museums, art galleries and art schools lit up at night and performances staged at various points for two weekends in August.

Every now and then, I take a break from travelling and spend an extended period of time at home, and that’s when I discover how much is happening in my own backyard.

For a city of its size, Singapore packs a powerful punch, with lots of offerings on the action and, not to mention, the dining side. However, I will refrain from talking extensively on food and drinks this time, even though it's one of my favourite parts of being on the road. The first thing I try to do when I know I am staying put for a while is to check what festivals and events are on. This year, I caught one of the last acts of the Singapore International Festival of Arts, which, by the way, has grown beautifully – not just in scale, but also in the kind of acts it curates – showcasing local works and regional and global productions.

I managed to get hold of tickets to the sold-out Peter Pan by the Berliner Ensemble, Robert Wilson and CocoRosie. It’s a take on what happens when Peter Pan grows up. It was wonderfully weird, whimsical and quirky, and I left wishing none of us ever has to grow up – and, in fact, to be a good traveller, you should always keep your inner child alive.

I also spent a night walking through the art and heritage district during the Singapore Night Festival. Already in its seventh year, the event saw the precinct around the museums, art galleries and art schools lit up at night and performances staged at various points for two weekends in August. Of course, there were open-air food stalls set up throughout the circuit – one named Travelling Cow dished up some pretty good burgers. It is amazing to see what clever lighting can do to transform buildings and trees – we saw rainstorms on the façade of the Singapore Arts Museum and faces in the trees around the Singapore National Museum.

Most people see Singapore as this highly efficient and uptight city that is all about business, but I like it when its playful side is let out, and you can certainly see that happening more and more as Singapore tries to encourage arts and creativity. This, to me, is making Singapore a better place to work, live and play in.

Then, of course, there’s the annual Formula 1 Grand Prix, the world’s only night race of the fastest cars in the world, taking place every September. This year’s race seemed much quieter and I was told by experts that it’s due to the reduction – almost 50% – in noise level. Some say it takes away the thrill of the race as spectators can't hear and feel the cars zipping by as much, but for the sake of the environment, I support the move.

I like the Grand Prix weekend, not so much for the racing, but for the concerts and events happening at the fringe. This year, I managed to make it to the Pet Shop Boys show, although I feel that the true highlight was Robbie Williams, who – despite the tropical thunderstorm that broke out as soon as he sang the first note – put on an amazing performance. With great professionalism, he and his band braved the heavy downpour, thunder and lightning to put on a show that wowed his fans and proved his status as a pop icon.

To round off my Singapore experience, I popped into the new Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore. Having heard so much about this new brand created by Shangri-La, I had to check out the first Jen in the world. The informality and contemporary feel of Jen is likable. The design elements are present, but not overwhelming. There’s a “To Go” breakfast counter for those who are in a hurry to get to meetings and have no time for a full spread. In the lobby is a giant iPad-like screen from Monscierge, which gives you information on the hotel and its surrounding area, with the additional perk of allowing you to share your location with friends on social networks.

The biggest highlight is the rooftop swimming pool – Baywatch@Jen has three pools and the most amazing views over Orchard Road. It’s not often you get this view of Singapore’s most famous shopping precinct. The area is bustling with activities all year round but hasn’t seen anything new in a while; I think Hotel Jen, the first new hotel to open on Orchard Road in a long time, is a breath of much-needed fresh air in this part of town. Another move is to make parts of Orchard Road car-free on the first Saturday of every month starting October.

Before I forget, there’s the Singapore Writers Festival to look forward to from 31 October through to 8 November 2014, where I will be moderating a session with best-selling travel writer and author Paul Theroux.

See you in Singapore.

 Make a booking at Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore Back to Heart Talk 

There are no comments yet

 
 
To leave comments, you must be a Golden Circle member so sign in below. If you are not already a member, sign up now.
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.2762 s