Inner Circle

Aloha的无尽魅力

Yeoh Siew Hoon重游夏威夷。

Aloha的无尽魅力
夏威夷人深信,人一旦与自然资源分离,他就失去了自己的根。

火奴鲁鲁是非常奇妙的岛屿,游客们即使离开了很久,还会时时想起,念念不忘。上次游览火奴鲁鲁是十年前的事了,这次故地重游却丝毫没有陌生感,一切仿佛就在昨天。机场变化不大,与十年前一样,所有的标示仍然是日语,让许多初到夏威夷的游客颇为惊讶。迄今为止,在夏威夷所有游客中,日本游客仍占了很大比例,而来自韩国以及中国的游客也正日益增多。

在等出租车时,一辆加长版的豪华轿车在我面前停了下来。司机Kim是来自首尔的韩国人,在火奴鲁鲁已经居住了30年。“我很喜欢这儿,”他说,“这里的生活很悠闲。”用“悠闲”来形容火奴鲁鲁再合适不过了。游客们从世界各地纷至沓来,在Oahu及其附近地区尽兴玩乐,享受美食、购物和在Waikiki海滩漫步的乐趣。连着两个航班的飞行后,我感到很累,便决定去海滩上晒晒太阳,享受海风拂面的感觉。如同我记忆中的一样,Waikiki海滩绵延洁白,到处是游泳者和享受日光浴的人。

酒店里一应俱全——商场、咖啡厅、餐厅、游乐场、游泳池等应有尽有,让人不愿离开,只想慵懒地享受这一切。不过,我还是决定出去走走,看看岛上的主要街道是否有所变化。当地的朋友推荐我参加Ko’Olau传奇之游,由Ko’olaupolo夏威夷市民俱乐部主办,以维护Kane’ohe湾地区的传统为宗旨。导游说,在James Cook于1778年抵达该地区之前,这里拥有人口最多的波里尼西亚人。当时,他们在捕鱼、灌溉和土地耕作方面的技术已非常先进。

一些年轻的夏威夷创业家打算将这些传统再度发扬光大。我参观了当地的Moli’i鱼塘,那是夏威夷目前仅存的四个旧鱼塘之一,古时的波里尼西亚人利用闸门来调节海水流量,有效经营这些鱼塘。He’eia是人口较为集中的地区,包括多个居民社区。那里的人们雄心勃勃,计划通过种植魔芋,让夏威夷恢复自给自足的能力。在1927年之前,该岛拥有众多魔芋种植田,后来由于种植甘蔗和菠萝更有利可图,当地人纷纷放弃种植本地农产,并开始进口食物。

夏威夷人深信,人一旦与自然资源分离,他就失去了自己的根。因此,市民俱乐部租赁了450亩的土地,计划将它打造成类似于1927年以前的耕地。他们的首要任务是把魔芋重新摆上当地夏威夷人的餐桌。一位名叫Patricia的MBA学生带着我们四处参观。她受过良好的教育,思维清晰,言谈举止得体,俨然是新一代农民的缩影。她打算重新恢复湿地,种植夏威夷本土的农作物。“本地种植,本地食用”运动为农民推荐适合种植的农作物,然后供应给本地的餐厅,对她的计划起到了很大的推动作用。

我还前往参观Manoa历史遗产中心,了解了夏威夷的本土植物。该中心为非营利机构,由Cooke家族于1996年创建,面向广大游客开放,并时常为学校的孩子们举办免费活动课程,大多数的孩子们来自发展较落后的地区。临走时,我有幸获赠一本儿童书“Ka-hala-o-puna”,意为“美丽的Manoa”,书中讲述了“彩虹女孩”的传奇。

此书由James Rumford所著,记载了Cooke家族的后人Mary Cooke的故事。她至今仍居住于Kuali’i,当时为了抵制当地政府在峡谷中央兴建高楼而进行了不屈不挠的斗争。这场斗争历时十年,但Mary最终获得了胜利。该书向人们宣传了维护夏威夷传统和历史遗产的重要性。

随着对夏威夷文化越来越深入的了解,我意识到它与其它许多亚洲国家文化的相似之处。夏威夷人为婴儿命名的方式基于元素平衡原理,同中国文化很接近;他们视水为神圣之物,与西藏文化相似;新一代的夏威夷人尊重前人的历史遗产,与亚洲其它地区的年轻人研究并发扬传统亦有异曲同工之处。此次重游夏威夷,我深刻体会到了Aloha的精神与魅力,并深深为之吸引。我知道,在不久的将来我定会再访夏威夷。

回到心语 

未有留言

 
 
留言只限贵宾金环会会员,请先从以下登录。如你未成为会员,现在就登记入会
  • Queries: 1
  • Query Time: 0.0015 s
  • Overall render: 1.8100 s

Inner Circle

The Lingering Spirit of Aloha

Yeoh Siew Hoon rediscovers Hawaii

The Lingering Spirit of Aloha
 

There’s something about Honolulu that lingers in your mind long after you have left the islands. Even though I hadn’t been back in more than 10 years, as if it were yesterday that I stepped off the plane. The airport felt the same, with all the signs in Japanese as they were all those years ago, which may surprise first-time visitors. The Japanese are still the most frequent visitors to Hawaii, although, today, Koreans and Chinese are among the mix of Asian travellers.

At the taxi rank, a huge stretch limousine pulled up in front of me with a Korean driver. Kim, who is from Seoul, has lived in Honolulu for 30 years. “I like it here,” he said, “It’s more relaxing.” Relaxing is the right word to describe Honolulu as tourists from around the world come to Oahu and its neighbouring isles to play, eat, shop and do the Waikiki walk. As tired as I was after two consecutive flights, I wanted to feel the sea breeze and soak in the sunshine. Waikiki is as I remember it – a vast stretch of white, sandy beach packed with swimmers and sunbathers.

Although it would be easy to be lazy and stay around the hotels, which have everything you need – shops, cafes, restaurants, playgrounds and pools – I wanted to venture out to see how the main strip had changed. Local friends recommended  the Legends of Ko’Olau Excursion run by the Ko’olaupoko Hawaiian Civic Club, an organisation whose mission is to keep the traditions of the Kane’ohe Bay region alive. According to the tour guide, the area was home to the largest Polynesian populations prior to the arrival of James Cook in 1778 and they were extremely advanced in fishing and the irrigation and cultivation of land.

Some enterprising young Hawaiians are attempting to bring back these traditional systems. I visited the Moli’i fishpond, one of four remaining original Hawaiian fishponds originally used by ancient Polynesians for ocean husbandry using sluices to control the flow of seawater flow. At He’eia, a census-designated area comprising several neighbourhoods, I learnt of an ambitious plan to make Hawaii self-sufficient again through taro production. Prior to 1927, the island was rich in taro fields, but because sugar cane and pineapples fetched higher prices, locals replaced native foods with imported ones. 

Hawaiians believe that when a man is separated from natural resources, he loses his identity. As a result, the Civic Club has leased a 450-acre plot of land with the intention of cultivating it back to its pre-1927 state. Their top priority is to reintroduce taro in the Hawaiian diet. Patricia, an MBA student who showed us around, epitomises today’s modern farmer. Well-educated and articulate, she plans to revive the wetlands and grow crops that are native to Hawaii. The “grow local, eat local” movement helps her cause because it advises farmers on which crops to grow, which are then ordered by local restaurants.

I also visited the Manoa Heritage Centre to learn more about native Hawaiian plants. Set up by the Cooke family as a non-profit organisation in 1996, the centre is open for tours and runs free programmes for school children, many of whom are from less developed areas. I was lucky enough to leave with a children’s book called “Ka-hala-o-puna (the beauty of Manoa)”, a legend about the “girl of the rainbow”. 

Written by James Rumford, the book was the result of a local battle waged by Mary Cooke, who still resides in Kuali’i, to stop authorities from constructing a high tower in the middle of the valley. The book was used to spread awareness of the significance of this valley to Hawaiian heritage. It took her 10 years, but she finally won the battle.

As I learnt more about Hawaiian culture, I realised how similar it was to many Asian cultures. The way Hawaiians name their babies, according to elements and a sense of balance, is similar to the Chinese; the way water is sacred to the Hawaiians is similar to the Tibetans; and the way new generations are more respectful of their heritage is similar to how the youth of Asia wish to learn more about tradition. This time round, I am convinced the spirit of Aloha will remain even longer in me, and I can guarantee it won’t be another decade before I visit the islands again. 

Back to Heart Talk 

There are no comments yet

 
 
To leave comments, you must be a Golden Circle member so sign in below. If you are not already a member, sign up now.
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.2984 s