Inner Circle

新旧世界的完美交融

苏州虽是中国飞速发展的金融中心之一,但仍完好保存了其文化精髓。

新旧世界的完美交融
沿着平江路每隔几百米左右就有小石梯,可由此走下运河,是这里出名的游览设施,为运河之游提供许多便利。

苏州是长江三角洲地区最古老的城市之一,其历史可追溯到2,500多年前。今日的苏州更是中国最主要的经济发展中心之一。虽然这里的现代化发展进程迅猛无比,苏州仍然完好保存了流传已久的文化与历史魅力。与她毗邻的国际大都会上海五光十色、繁华热闹,豪华商厦和摩天大楼鳞次栉比,相比之下,苏州则将古典特色的建筑和幽静雅致的园林融入到现代风格中,从而散发出独有的婉约、典雅的气质。 

恒久不衰

苏州素有“东方威尼斯”之美名,蜿蜒的水道两岸风光迷人,游客们可搭乘老船工手划的木舟畅游一番。沿着平江路每隔几百米左右就有小石梯,可由此走下运河,是这里出名的游览设施,为运河之游提供许多便利。

中国大多数的古城均布满了店铺,售卖着同样的纪念品,而平江路却非如此。这里的食肆和零售店铺等布局平衡,种类丰富,涵括了新旧时代的多样选择。从气味浓郁的臭豆腐和油炸点心,到别致幽静的特色咖啡馆,再到坐落于古庄园中的中餐厅等,这里的餐饮选择可谓应有尽有。你可以在此轻松呆上一整天的时间,各类餐饮和购物选择绝不会令你厌倦。苏州最出名的特产,如丝绸、苏绣、手工制扇子等,都可以在平江路上找到,路的两旁还有众多时髦的书店和茶馆等。

位于东北路的拙政园坐落于平江路北端不远处,是散步的好去处。拙政园与苏州城内其它八座园林一起,被联合国教科文组织评定为历史保护遗址。中国政府及联合国教科文组织素来称拙政园为全球最精致的古典花园之一。园内林立的假山、水平如镜的池塘、青翠的山丘、气派的古屋、曲径通幽的鹅卵石小道、葱郁的植物和色彩缤纷的花卉等,构成了一幅绝美的画面,让人流连忘返。

另一座名列历史保护遗址的是留园,距离拙政园仅15分钟车程。留园建于公元前6世纪,比拙政园规模较小一些,以精心雕琢的假山、碧波荡漾的池塘和精巧的亭台楼阁而闻名,古时许多官宦显贵的府邸均建于此。

文化追求

要体验苏州的现代风貌,建议你前往苏州城东部的苏州工业园区。虽然称为“工业园”,该地区可不只仅有工厂与写字楼。工业园拥有两百万的常住人口,平坦而洁净的大道两旁种满了各类花卉和植物。为了吸引世界各地的精英人才前来苏州效力,自工业园成立以来,当地政府一直积极为他们提供完善而富有吸引力的生活环境,并配备了一系列生活及文化设施。 

苏州文化艺术中心就是其中最引人瞩目的设施之一。夜晚时来到这里,艺术中心大楼的金属网状外观仿似北京的“鸟巢”馆,色彩斑斓的灯光赋予它生动的活力,让人赞叹不已。被誉为中国最现代、最富创意舞蹈团的苏州芭蕾舞团即在此驻场演出。

从苏州文化艺术中心信步几百米,即来到“诚品生活”。这座台湾品牌的建筑不同于传统的购物商厦,更着重于艺术、文化和设计,内设人气极旺的诚品书店,是整座大楼内最大型、最主要的店铺。这也是诚品集团在中国内地开设的第一间书店,设计精美,宽敞宜人,拥有超过15万册中英文书籍,规模不同凡响。

“诚品生活”内还设有选择极其丰富的餐厅和咖啡馆,以及艺术画廊、剧院和一间多媒体展览区。即使在购物区,富有“诚品”特色的艺术与文化元素也随处可见,一些区域还设有温馨的展示台,人们可尽情欣赏艺术工匠们制作精美手工艺品的场景。

苏州香格里拉大酒店坐落于苏州新区,是畅游苏州的最佳起点。酒店距离苏州火车站仅15分钟车程,苏州的许多名胜景点如平江路、苏州博物馆、虎丘、寒山寺等,也均在酒店方圆10公里内,往来十分便捷。 

旅行贴士:

  • 游览苏州的最佳时节是春天(四月到五月)及秋天(九月到十月),那时气温宜人,适合观光旅游。
  • 苏州城内没有机场,你可以飞抵上海虹桥国际机场,然后搭乘火车约30分钟,即来到苏州。
  • 想一尝苏州的地道风味吗?松鹤楼是当地最出名的菜馆,迄今已有两百多年历史,这里的招牌菜“松鼠桂鱼”绝对值得一试!
  • 阳澄湖位于苏州西北部,距苏州市区约一小时车程。那里布满了各类食肆和农家乐餐厅,阳澄湖的大闸蟹更是享誉世界。“秋风起,蟹黄肥”,每年10月中至12月初正是品尝大闸蟹的黄金时节。
  • 观前街和山塘街是苏州城中最闻名的夜生活胜地。如果你想找一个安静的地方享受一顿美味的宵夜,从苏州香格里拉大酒店信步可达狮山路, 日本居酒屋、中餐厅和酒吧等在那里星罗棋布,让人眼花缭乱。

 

 请即预订苏州香格里拉大酒店 回到万种旅程 

未有留言

 
 
留言只限贵宾金环会会员,请先从以下登录。如你未成为会员,现在就登记入会
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.3295 s

Inner Circle

A Perfect Blend of Old and New

It may be one of the fastest-growing financial centres in China, but Suzhou has retained much of its cultural soul.

A Perfect Blend of Old and New
Small flights of stairs leading down to the waterways can be found every hundred metres or less along Pingjiang Road, the city’s famous tourist stretch.

One of the oldest cities in the Yangtze River Delta with a history of more than 2,500 years, the Suzhou of today is a prolific economic centre in China. Despite its rapid progress and modernisation, Suzhou has somehow managed to not lose sight of its ancient charm and culture. Unlike its more cosmopolitan and glitzy neighbour, Shanghai, where luxury shopping malls and towering skyscrapers now dominate the cityscape, Suzhou’s ancient architecture and beautiful gardens can still be seen all over the city, at times, alongside their modern counterparts. 

Timeworn Charms

The city is also famous for being the “Venice of the East”, thanks to its collection of latticed waterways on which people can travel by means of wooden boats operated by seemingly tireless elderly oarsmen. Small flights of stairs leading down to the waterways can be found every hundred metres or less along Pingjiang Road, the city’s famous tourist stretch, making it a breeze for travellers to embark on a tour of the canals. 

Unlike most other old towns in China that are dominated by shops selling the same souvenirs, Pingjiang Road offers a well-balanced mix of food and retail options spanning the old and new. From stalls selling pungent tofu and deep-fried snacks to quaint specialty cafes to Chinese restaurants housed within an ancient manor, travellers are spoilt for choice when it comes to food options. You can easily spend an entire day here, given the variety of products available. Things the city is famous for, such as silk, Su embroidery and handcrafted Chinese fans, can all be found on this road, alongside hipster bookshops and tea boutiques.

Located a short distance from the northern end of Pingjiang Road is the Humble Administrator’s Garden on Dongbei Street. The garden, together with eight others in the city, is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and regarded as one of the finest classical gardens in the world. The Humble Administrator’s Garden derives its beauty from its tranquil ponds, verdant knolls, grand ancient houses and winding cobbled paths flanked by flowers and bonsai plants.

Another UNESCO-listed park one should check out is the Lingering Garden, located a 15-minute car ride away. Built as early as 6th century B.C., this slightly smaller classical garden features masterfully crafted rock formations, rippling ponds and pavilions set amid a sprawling complex that once housed aristocrats and wealthy families.

Cultural Pursuits

To experience the modern side of Suzhou, head over to the Suzhou Industrial Park (SIP) area on the eastern side of the city. Though called an “industrial park”, this zone actually has more than factories and offices. It is home to a population of about two million people and its roads are spotless, incredibly well maintained and adorned with a variety of flora and fauna. In a bid to attract top talent from around the world to work in Suzhou, the local government has, since the zone’s inception, been striving to provide an attractive and holistic living environment for such individuals by introducing a slew of lifestyle and cultural amenities.

The Suzhou Culture and Arts Centre is one of the most impressive of these amenities. Come nightfall, the building’s metal, mesh-like façade akin to the Bird’s Nest Stadium in Beijing is lit up in vivid hues and almost impossible to miss. It is also a most befitting home to the Suzhou Ballet Theatre, widely regarded as the most modern and innovative dance troupe in China.

A few hundred metres down the road from the Suzhou Culture and Arts Centre is Eslite Spectrum. Unlike conventional shopping centres, this Taiwanese development is largely focused on arts, culture and design. The massively popular Eslite Bookstore is the largest establishment within the building and the first Eslite bookstore to open in China, where the beautifully designed space carries nearly all genres of literature and stocks over 150,000 books in English and Chinese.

Eslite Spectrum also houses a splendid range of restaurants and cafes, an art gallery, a theatre and a multi-media exhibition zone. Elements of arts and culture can even be found in the retail zones, some of which feature cosy stages where visitors can watch artisans work on handicrafts.

Nestled in Suzhou New District, Shangri-La Hotel, Suzhou is one of the best places from which to begin your city adventures. Apart from being situated just 15 minutes away from the Suzhou Railway Station, many of the city’s famous sights, such as Pingjiang Road, Suzhou Museum, Tiger Hill and Hanshan Temple, are situated within a ten-kilometre radius.

Travel Tips:

  • The best times to visit Suzhou are during spring (April to May) and autumn (September to October) when the temperatures are ideal for sightseeing.
  • As there are no airports in Suzhou, one can land at Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport before taking a short 30-minute train ride to the city.
  • Looking for authentic Suzhou cuisine? Song He Lou is arguably the most famous dining establishment in the city that has more than two centuries of history. Try the restaurant’s signature squirrel-shaped Mandarin fish.
  • Located an hour’s drive northwest of downtown Suzhou is the Yangcheng Lake area that features many dining establishments and nong jie le (home restaurants) specialising in hairy crabs, which are in season from mid-October to early December.
  • Shiqian and Shantang Streets are the renowned nightlife hotspots in the city. If you’re looking for a quiet late night meal, Shishan Road, located a short walk from Shangri-La Hotel, Suzhou, offers a variety of Japanese izakayas, Chinese restaurants and pubs.

 

 Make a booking at Shangri-La Hotel, Suzhou Back to Destination 

There are no comments yet

 
 
To leave comments, you must be a Golden Circle member so sign in below. If you are not already a member, sign up now.
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.2997 s