Inner Circle

苏州的韵味

苏州昔日的古典园林和蜿蜒运河如今又被赋予时尚风情。

苏州的韵味
昆曲和评弹均拥有几百年的历史,它们不仅是伟大的表演艺术,更对中国的民族文化起着深远的影响,苏州也因此成为中国文化遗产的重要之地。

苏州城始建于公元前514年,当时是吴国的都城。由于其位于大运河上的优越地理位置,苏州迅速发展繁荣,在明朝和清朝时是世界最昌盛的城市之一,聚集了大量富商巨贾和达官贵人。苏州的丝绸最负盛名,吸引了当时的丝绸商们纷至沓来。素有“东方威尼斯”美誉的苏州,如今仍保留了许多当时遗留下来的古迹,大多分布在古城区,那里的古典园林和蜿蜒运河历经变迁,依然散发着独特而幽雅的韵味,令人流连忘返。苏州工业园则汇聚了众多摩登建筑和时尚餐饮热点,是现代苏州的完美缩影。

苏州香格里拉大酒店凭其豪华舒适的住宿环境和热情周到的服务,成为游客探索苏州的最佳起点。这是当地首家国际豪华酒店,坐落于苏州新区最高建筑—232米高的新地中心内,并占据了该建筑顶部的24层。酒店拥有390间宽敞的客房和套房,从房内极目远眺,苏州城的繁华风貌尽收眼底。酒店设有6间餐厅、酒吧和设施完善的健身中心,客人在此可畅享美食,放松身心。

悠久历史

古时的大运河上船只穿梭,如鱼鳞般不计其数,是贸易的主要渠道,也为苏州带来了巨大的财富。何不在大运河上泛舟,穿越古城区,感受当时的繁华景象!虽然历经千百年的变迁以及许多现代元素的融入,古城区仍然古韵悠然,让人心驰神往。平江路上至今仍分布着诸多大运河的分支和精美的鹅卵石路,将古代与现代巧妙地连接起来。这里是住宅区域,市井风情扑面而来,其间许多咖啡馆和手工艺品商店星罗棋布,在此悠闲漫步,你会恍如步入了老电影的拍摄现场,一时间感觉时光倒流,昔日重现。

艺术和文化爱好者们会钟情于苏州的两座戏曲博物馆—苏州戏曲博物馆和中国昆曲博物馆,均位于平江路的中张家巷,向人们展现着发源于苏州的两大戏曲艺术—评弹和昆曲。昆曲和评弹均拥有几百年的历史,如今仍然广受喜爱,它们不仅是伟大的表演艺术,更对中国的民族文化起着深远的影响,苏州也因此成为中国文化遗产的重要之地。

亦旧亦新

苏州最著名的莫过于其中国传统园林。向北行至平江路的尽头,你会来到苏州拙政园,这是中国四大名园之一。筑于高墙内的拙政园当时是只有高官富人才能光顾的私家花园和聚会之所。拙政园之名取自“闲居赋”中“拙者之为政也”,但其规模宏大,设计精巧,丝毫没有露拙之处。明朝和清朝期间,苏州城内的园林达到近200座,可见园林在苏州发展历史上的重要地位。至今苏州尚存9座园林,均被列为世界文化遗产。

毗邻拙政园的是由举世闻名的建筑大师贝聿铭主持设计的苏州博物馆新馆,以现代手法精心演绎了中国园林的传统风格。这里不但有重新修建的园林和引人入胜的展览,还有栽于440年前的古老紫藤。由此向西前行,不一会儿就来到了苏州丝绸博物馆,正是那毫不起眼的蚕和蚕丝,造就了丝绸之府苏州的辉煌历史。

苏州另有一座著名的私家花园——留园。欣赏完留园后,何不去附近的太监弄逛逛?城中最古老的餐馆之一得月楼即坐落于此,它建于明代,供应地道的苏帮菜,如松鼠鳜鱼、碧螺虾仁等。如果你订不到位子,也别着急,如今在金鸡湖的李公堤上已另开了一家得月楼的分店。

现代风格

探索苏州的辉煌历史之后,让我们一起去位于苏州新区中心的工业园,领略苏州的现代风貌。可别顾名思义,工业园其实坐落于金鸡湖的西岸,风景优美,幽静宜人,还有不少精致的咖啡馆和餐厅点缀其间,供应各类风味美食。

金鸡湖的西面有一家翔日本料理,提供选择丰富的日式佳肴。如果你有时间的话,不妨远离闹市,去旺山一尝农家菜,然后穿越竹林到九龙池。置身于这山间的小村落,尽情欣赏那漫山遍野的葱郁竹林、银杏林和茶园,令人深深陶醉。

 请即预订苏州香格里拉大酒店 回到万种旅程 

未有留言

 
 
留言只限贵宾金环会会员,请先从以下登录。如你未成为会员,现在就登记入会
  • Queries: 1
  • Query Time: 0.0015 s
  • Overall render: 3.2442 s

Inner Circle

Amazing Grace

Classical gardens and canals are just part of Suzhou’s appeal today.

Amazing Grace
More than mere performances, the classic operas influence national culture and ensure that Suzhou remains intimately connected to China’s legacy.

Founded in 514 BC as the capital of the Wu Kingdom, Suzhou prospered—thanks to its fortuitous location on the Grand Canal—to become one of the world’s most fashionable centres of wealth and nobility during the Ming and Qing dynasties.  Its prosperity was guaranteed by the merchants that flocked to its doors in search of silk.  Vestiges of the days when it was known as the Venice of the East can still be found in the Old Town, where picturesque canals and gardens continue to cast their spell, while the city’s tradition of cosmopolitan modernity is now embodied in the dining and entertainment options available in Suzhou Industrial Park. 

All the comforts of the present and exceptional service industry make Shangri-La Hotel, Suzhou the perfect place to indulge when discovering the city.  The first international luxury hotel in the region occupies the upper 24 levels of the tallest building in Suzhou New District, the 232-metre Metropolitan Tower, offering unobstructed views of the city from all 390 spacious rooms and suites.  Its six restaurants, bars and Health Club provide all the creature comforts one could possibly need. 

Colourful History 

Wealth flowed into the city along its canals, and taking a boat ride around the Old Town is an enjoyable way to experience the waterways that were so busy in the past that boats were said to look like scattered fish scales on the water.  While the years and a modern veneer have dimmed some of the splendour that held visitors spellbound in the past, the Old Town can still turn on the charm in such places as Pingjiang Road, where the threads of canals and cobbled lanes appealingly weave the past into the present.  Despite the cosy cafés and fascinating craft shops that dot the city, it is still a residential area where the vignettes of everyday life and its photogenic background can sometimes make it seem like you’ve wandered on to a film set. 

If the theatre-like scenery whets your appetite, two entertaining museums on Zhongzhangjia Alley at the southern end of Pingjiang Road celebrate two performing arts that originated in Suzhou: Pingtan, a mix of storytelling and singing, and Kunqu Opera, which is known as the mother of all Chinese operas.  With hundreds of years of history, Pingtan and Kunqu continue to gain popularity today.  More than mere performances, the classic operas influence national culture and ensure that Suzhou remains intimately connected to China’s legacy.

Something Old, Something New 

Suzhou’s main claim to fame today is its traditional gardens.  Walking north to the end of Pingjiang Road will bring you to the doors of The Humble Administrator’s Garden, which is regarded as one of the top four classical gardens in China.  Hidden behind high walls, the gardens were the VIP clubs of their day, offering exclusion and seclusion to the city’s high rollers.  However, its size and grandeur makes The Humble Administrator’s Garden seem more like a park, which begs the question, “Was the administrator in question really that humble?”  Apparently not.  During the Ming and Qing dynasties, the city had up to 200 gardens, which gives an idea of how prosperous it was.  Today, only nine gardens survive and are on the World Heritage List. 

Award-winning architect I. M. Pei has created a modern interpretation of the traditional Chinese garden at the Suzhou Museum, situated right next to The Humble Administrator’s Garden.  It is well worth a visit, not only for its re-imagined garden and fascinating exhibits, but also for its wonderful 440-year-old wisterias.  A couple of blocks west of the museum is the Silk Museum, Suzhou’s homage to the humble silkworm’s role in the city’s rise to prominence. 

Suzhou also boasts the top two private gardens, as home to The Lingering Garden.  While in the area, head over to nearby Taijian Lane and De Yue Lou, one of the city’s oldest restaurants, which dates back to the Ming Dynasty.  The restaurant serves Suzhou specialties, such as squirrel-shaped mandarin fish and stir-fried shelled fresh shrimps.  If you can’t get in, don’t worry, the restaurant has opened another branch on the causeway of Jinji Lake.

Modern Flavours

If you feel the need to escape the confines of the past, the mundanely monikered Suzhou Industrial Park is the heart of modern Suzhou.  However, don’t be put off by the name.  Not only does it offer a pleasant promenade along Jinji Lake’s western shore where you can escape the crowds, but also cafés and restaurants to suit the taste of any traveller. 

Over on the west side of the lake, Xiang Restaurant takes top billing for its delicious selection of Japanese dishes. If you are in town for a few days, escape the city altogether and sample authentic Suzhou dishes at one of the village restaurants in Wangshan and walk through the bamboo to Nine Dragon Pond.  The charming mountain village showcases the region at its most breathtaking, surrounding nature lovers with lush bamboo forests and picturesque tea and gingko plantations. 

 Make a booking at Shangri-La Hotel, Suzhou Back to Destination 

There are no comments yet

To leave comments, you must be a Golden Circle member so sign in below. If you are not already a member, sign up now.
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.3171 s