Inner Circle

新加坡的别样风情

狮城既充满了理想主义色彩,又极富诗情画意,让人感受无限惊喜。

新加坡的别样风情
除了璀璨的阳光和灯光外,人们往往忽视了新加坡丰厚的历史底蕴,以及海纳百川的多元文化。

洁净、安全、适合家庭居住,这些都是新加坡众所周知的特点。但狮城不仅有一尘不染的外观,更有勃勃生机和丰富的个性。这里一年四季气候温暖,绿荫成群,有许多著名的主题公园,人们的生活更是悠闲惬意,仿佛时时刻刻在度假。

不过,除了璀璨的阳光和灯光外,人们往往忽视了新加坡丰厚的历史底蕴,以及海纳百川的多元文化。

历史一瞥

樟宜是众所周知的新加坡国际机场所在地,在英国殖民地时期,这里曾是英军人员聚集之地。鲜为人知的樟宜博物馆备受当地人的推崇,展出众多历史资料,你还有机会参观从那时遗留至今的航空基地和医院。1845年期间,茂密的椰树园和秀美的海岸风光令这里成为人们欢度周末和户外活动的热门之地。 

熙熙攘攘的牛车水,更体现出新加坡欣欣向荣的生机。战前的店铺经过翻修,仍然魅力不减;四层楼的新加坡佛牙寺龙华院是重要的宗教圣地,寺内供有27英尺高的Maitreya佛像。寺庙采纳了唐代的建筑风格与元素,主要景点包括由420公斤纯金铸造的佛牙舍利塔、万佛阁,在幽静的楼顶花园内还有毗卢遮那大光明经咒转经轮藏。寺院的内殿唯有僧人才可入内,不过展示厅从上午9时至12时、下午3时至6时开放,你可一睹其诵经仪式的壮观景象。

闲情逸致

想改变一下旅游节奏的话,不妨去著名的乌节路逛逛,这里遍布了各种各样的商店,是新加坡的主要地标之一。这个热闹非凡的地区,如今又添了一名新成员—新加坡乌节门今旅。酒店专为现代旅行者而设计,风格时髦休闲,一切讲求便捷简单,例如在入住登记后,你可将行李放在色彩鲜艳的推车中,直接推进客房;经典餐厅Makan@Jen设有免费冰茶和糕点一角,行程匆匆的你可随手带走一些在路上享用。

酒店内处处可见手机充电站,并提供免费高速无线上网服务。客人还可随意使用PressReader服务,浏览2500多种国际报纸和杂志。当然,这里的娱乐和休闲设施也不可或缺。在华美的楼顶泳池,你可以在碧波中畅游,抑或在舒适的凉亭中休憩,读一本好书,轻松呆上一个上午;精美的日光浴台是练习瑜珈的好去处;24小时开放的健身房外,还设有固定健身脚踏车。

购物胜地

乌节路上豪华商场林立,不过,如果你比较偏爱个性精品店的话,建议你去哈芝巷淘宝。哈芝巷位于Kampong Glam穆斯林社区,隐藏于阿拉伯街五颜六色的布料市场之间。这里曾是战前店铺的集中地,如今经过翻修,成为本地设计师展现才华的大舞台,其间还点缀着古董品店以及温馨的中东式小咖啡馆。Zhai Eco Collection 采用环保的竹元素,精心打造舒适无比的男女服饰;Mondays Off 推出具有日本及瑞典设计风格的独特家具、日用品、礼品和手袋。这些店铺虽然没有奢华的环境,却充满个性风格。毗邻的安详路拥有诸多装饰商店和创意社,而热闹的武吉士街市场则以其精彩缤纷的历史而闻名,在这里你可以搜罗到各类价廉物美的商品。

新加坡的美食也极富传奇性。这里从来不乏精致高档的餐厅和明星厨师,但其街头的大排档最完美地融汇了多元文化的精髓,不但丰盛无比,而且价格低廉。新加坡乌节门今旅酒店的市场传讯经理Lau Ler Ling大力推荐麦斯威尔熟食中心,那里的「天天鸡饭」据说是城中最棒的海南鸡饭。Kim Hua市场以前是鱼贩和肉商们的集中地,如今则以丰富的餐饮选择而闻名,如日新香记的煎甜薯饺、Marina South的炒贵刁等。

如果你和一群朋友聚餐,珍宝海鲜定会倍受欢迎,那里的辣蟹口味正宗,配上煎馒头饱蘸着香浓的酱汁,真让人欲罢不能。其它招牌菜如黑椒蟹、麦片虾、脆花枝等都非常出名。虽然新加坡以清洁和秩序而闻名,但许多最让人难忘的美味,却是只有在杯盘杂乱的餐桌上与好友们共享时才能体会到的。

 请即预订新加坡乌节门今旅 回到万种旅程 

未有留言

 
 
留言只限贵宾金环会会员,请先从以下登录。如你未成为会员,现在就登记入会
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.3246 s

Inner Circle

The Other Side of Singapore

Renowned for being as idealistic as it is idyllic, the lion city still has surprises in store.

The Other Side of Singapore
Behind all the sunshine and light, there’s also rich heritage and a fascinating melting pot of cultural influences that may have been eclipsed by its saccharine reputation.

Clean. Safe. Great for kids. These are all common descriptions of Singapore, but beneath her squeaky clean exterior, she exudes vibrancy and character aplenty. It’s true that the weather is nearly perfect year-round, greenery is everywhere and its theme parks and cruisy lifestyle make it feel like you’re permanently on holiday. However, behind all the sunshine and light, there’s also rich heritage and a fascinating melting pot of cultural influences that may have been eclipsed by its saccharine reputation.

Glimpse of the Past

While most associate Changi with Singapore’s international airport, it was initially a buzzing hub for British military personnel during colonial times. The little-known Changi Museum is recommended by locals as it provides historical insight and a chance to see the original airbase and hospital, which still remain today. Famous for its coconut plantations, the picturesque surrounds became a fashionable resort fringed by trees and a pristine shoreline in 1845, a popular venue for weekend getaways and al fresco soirees.

The city’s tale unfolds further amidst the hum of lively Chinatown. While the restored pre-war shophouses are worth a wonder, there’s more to see than quirky knickknacks. The four-storey Buddha Tooth Relic Temple is an important religious site and home to a 27-foot statue of Maitreya Buddha. Inspired by Tang Dynasty architecture, highlights include the Ten Thousand Buddhas Pagoda weighing a hefty 420 kilograms, and a Tibetan prayer wheel on the tranquil garden rooftop. While only monks have access to the inner chamber, get to the viewing gallery from 9 a.m. to 12 noon or from 3 to 6 p.m. for a glimpse into their ceremonies, where they chant sutras from prayer books.

Easy Breezy

For a change of pace, a visit to Singapore would be incomplete without a stroll down Orchard Road, the iconic strip with row upon row of every shop imaginable. It’s a fantastic place to be based and Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore is a recent addition to the iconic avenue that caters to the contemporary traveller. This funky, casual stay is all about making life easy – from the colourful trolleys at check-in so you can wheel straight to your room fuss-free, to the complimentary iced tea and pastry station at signature eatery Makan, where you can grab a bite on your way out.

Convenience is king with an abundance of charging stations, fast and free WiFi and access to PressReader with more than 2,500 international newspapers and magazines available. However, it’s not just about the essentials – there’s plenty of ways to unwind. One of the highlights is the gorgeous rooftop pool, where one could happily spend a morning curled up in a cabana with a book in between dips or gaze at the stunning skyline. There’s also a beautiful deck for yoga or stationary biking right outside the 24-hour gym.

Downtown Delights

While Orchard Road offers a bounty of retail options, shoppers who prefer independent boutiques should explore Haji Lane tucked away in the Muslim Quarter of the Kampong Glam neighbourhood, sandwiched between Arab Street’s colourful fabric markets. An alley once occupied by pre-war shophouses has been revived, thanks to an influx of local designers, vintage finds and cosy Middle Eastern cafes. Check out Zhai Eco Collection for super comfortable basics made from sustainable bamboo, and Mondays Off for Japanese and Scandinavian-designed homeware, gifts and bags. What the shops lack in high-street gloss, they certainly make up for in personality. Nearby An Siang Road is home to a mix of decorative shops and creative agencies, while bustling Bugis Street Market, famous for its colourful past, is the place for all things cheap and cheerful.

Also legendary is Singapore’s fantastic food. While there’s no shortage of fine dining and the presence of many a celebrity chef, it is really the street food that best captures its multicultural cuisine. One can spend very little and eat like a king. Lau Ler Ling, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore’s communications manager suggests Maxwell Food Centre for Tian Tian’s chicken rice, which she considers to be the best in town. Kim Hua Market used to be filled with fishmongers and butchers, but today, it’s better known for such culinary delights as Ri Xing Xiang Ji’s fried sweet potato dumplings and char kway teow fried noodles at Marina South.

If you’re feasting with a group, Jumbo Seafood Restaurant is always a winner for its lauded chilli crab and accompanying fried mantou buns to mop up the rich buttery sauce, earthy black pepper crab, cereal prawns and crispy baby squid. While the Singapore stereotype may be immaculate, some of its best experiences involve messy tables overflowing with a jumble of delicious dishes, shared amongst good friends. 

 Make a booking at Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore Back to Destination 

Showing 1 comment

  1. Pierre Pardo: 1 year, 9 months ago

    Singapore really must be a great place, my sister works there & she loves being at the country. Thank you Singapore for all the blessings, you are a God' s sent :)

To leave comments, you must be a Golden Circle member so sign in below. If you are not already a member, sign up now.
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.3326 s