Inner Circle

历史重温

历史、艺术、文化和美食在此共冶一炉,古老的槟城魅力依旧。

历史重温
城内许多建筑的外墙上,绘有艺术家Ernest Zacharevic有关当地日常生活的画作,也因此掀起了公共艺术风潮,引来许多游客和当地人们驻足欣赏。

幽静的午后,金色的阳光温暖地照在槟城侨生博物馆的玻璃窗上,精雕细刻的镶板映射着金漆的光芒,深色的木质桌椅则反射着珍珠母般的光晕。楼上,一座华丽的睡床装点着粉红色的丝带。每个房间内的细节均令人赞叹不已,且栩栩如生,仿佛大宅的主人(峇峇)刚刚外出做生意,而女主人(娘惹)则在享用下午茶。其实,这座大宅的历史可追溯到1894年。

精彩故事

游览马来西亚半岛西北沿海的槟城,仿佛在阅读这个岛屿的丰厚历史,悠久的传统历久弥新。位于槟城中心的乔治城是一个充满怀旧风情的小镇,拥有众多历史遗迹,其中就包括侨生博物馆。来往乔治城也十分方便。槟城最早由英国东印度公司于1786年建立,众多古老的华人区、印度寺庙和白色的殖民地风格建筑至今依然保存完好,在悠闲的午后可一一游访。邻近侨生博物馆的是著名的龙山堂丘祠,这座大规模的宗族屋宅拥有装饰华美的厅堂、房间和剧场,这里曾是朱蒂福斯特主演的影片《安娜与国王》的拍摄地。离此不远处,是靛蓝色外墙的张弼士故居,掩映在许多白色的殖民地风格建筑之间。还有诸多建于水上的姓氏桥都值得观赏,其中以周氏家族的姓氏桥最长,以木坡道与陆地相连。

租私家车是到访这里的游客很热衷的一个游览方式,不过搭乘脚踏三轮车则可以让你零距离地欣赏各个名胜。如果你幸运的话,你的车夫还会为你推荐游览目的地,或娓娓道来他们记忆中的历史。周六的下午交通不如往常拥挤,游客可以在诸多保存完好的遗迹之间自由徜徉,或漫步于幽静的唐人街区,或去「小印度」感受一下宝莱坞式的热闹音乐,然后在小吃摊前饶有兴趣地品尝风味小食。

现代风貌

不过,槟城拥有的不仅仅是历史,现代文化也在此蓬勃发展。自2008年槟城被命名为联合国教科文组织世界遗产地之后,乔治城迎来了崭新的艺术和文化创意。城内许多建筑的外墙上,绘有艺术家Ernest Zacharevic有关当地日常生活的画作,也因此掀起了公共艺术风潮,引来许多游客和当地人们驻足欣赏。

「以前一到周末,人们都习惯呆在家里。现在,他们兴致勃勃地出去寻找最新画作,街上比以前繁忙多了。」三轮车夫林先生如是说。

周六晚上,在Armenian 街上还有二手品集市,林林总总的货品陈列于草坪上,街头艺人则击鼓歌唱。每周日的上午,土库街及周围街道实行封路,推出「占领土库街活动」。该活动集环保、运动、文化及儿童游戏专区于一身,包括快闪、滑轮、ZUMBA健身舞等表演,以及琳琅的街市、现场音乐演奏等。每月最后一个周日,在“小槟城”集市,还有传统与现代艺术画展。另有各间小咖啡馆和传统糕饼铺点缀其间,其中以名香泰饼家的「三轮车蛋挞」最为出名。

大排档的风味

槟城素以街头美食而闻名,包括马来菜、中菜、印度菜等,所以到槟城必定要遍尝美味。星罗棋布的大排档和熟食中心内,厨子们纷纷献上他们的拿手绝活,各种口味齐全,让人垂涎欲滴,欲罢不能。从laksas、nasi lemak、roti canai、虾汤,到cendol冰甜点,在槟城唯有尽兴尝过大排档的美味,才算不虚此行。

美食达人们还可走出乔治城,去探索更多的风味佳肴。一辆即上即落的巴士让你可更轻松前往Batu Ferringhi附近的海滩。往北行约45分钟,即是热带香料园,空气中弥漫着诱人的香味。当地名厨Rohana Turner或Pearly Kee在占地8英亩的香料园中推出烹饪课程,与你分享他们的经典马来及娘惹菜单。课程非常热门,建议你事先预订。

豪华天地

槟城香格里拉沙洋度假酒店以亲切友好的员工和舒适悠闲的岛屿生活风格而闻名。这里的榴莲套餐也极具人气。榴莲在东南亚备受热爱,外皮布满尖角,口感绵滑,气味特别,来源于Balik Pulau,那里有大片的榴莲树林。每年六月到九月是榴莲盛产的季节,沙洋酒店与比邻的槟城金沙度假酒店一起,联手推出无限量食榴莲的套餐,奉上各个不同品种的榴莲供食客品尝。诱人美味加上出色的服务,令这里成为许多游客的心仪之所,也是当地榴莲爱好者趋之若鹜的地方。

除了榴莲外,酒店宽大的游泳池也备受青睐,泳池掩映在酒店精心保护的百年雨林树之间。你也可去那里的私家海滩漫步,或去香格里拉CHI水疗,在豪华的水疗别墅内,体验传统的Rasa Asmaradana按摩。该疗程采用香草、香茅和斑兰叶等原料,按摩师以历代相传的养生疗法,让你感觉身心完美平衡。这也是槟城的独特魅力吧,延续传统,又吸收创新,所以才能如此历久弥新。

槟城旅游攻略:

  • 战胜炎热:槟城常年天气炎热。在外游览的最佳时间是上午11点之前,或下午3点以后。
  • 美食之旅:各式各样的大排档,有时候一逛就是一整天,所以最好预先计划。政府为游客专门准备了介绍街头美食的小册子供参考,你也可以询问一下当地人的推荐,或参加美食观光游。
  •  探胜:槟城除了乔治城外还有许多值得一游的地方。Balik Pulau,意为「岛的另一边」,拥有古老的渔村、清真寺、庙宇、稻田、香料农场、山羊牧场等,你可以搭乘私家车前往,也可以踩单车漫游。
  • 安全第一:在Batu Ferringhi的海滩上有许多店家提供帆伞运动,但有些店家未完全遵守安全规定。最好先确定他们是否拥有必要的安全证书,或在预订前询问一下酒店的意见。
  • 杀价的技巧:在集市上你完全可以讨价还价,建议你从店家报的首价的一半开始还价。无需付小费。
     
 请即预订槟城香格里拉沙洋度假酒店 回到万种旅程 

未有留言

 
 
留言只限贵宾金环会会员,请先从以下登录。如你未成为会员,现在就登记入会
  • Queries: 1
  • Query Time: 0.0015 s
  • Overall render: 1.4009 s

Inner Circle

History Unfolding

A cauldron of history, arts, culture and food keeps multi-faceted Penang bubbling.

History Unfolding
Artist Ernest Zacharevic’s illustrative paintings of local daily life are daubed on buildings across town and kick-started a trend for public art that keeps a curious crowd of tourists and residents hunting new works.

It’s late afternoon and the sun casts a syrupy glow through the open windows of the Pinang Peranakan Mansion. Gold paint glints from intricate carved panels and mother-of-pearl inlay shines from stocky dark wood tables and chairs. Upstairs, an ornate bed dressed in pink silk shimmers. Each room is so complete, so brimming with detail, it’s as if the Baba – the man of this impressive residence – has just stepped out for business and his wife, his Nyonya, has gone for afternoon tea. In fact, the mansion dates back to 1894.

Full of Stories

To visit Penang on Peninsular Malaysia’s northwest coast is to visit an island steeped in history, yet alive in traditions that continue to evolve. Historic sites in Penang’s charmingly timeworn Georgetown, where the Pinang Peranakan mansion is located, are plentiful, surprisingly cheap and easy to access. Ancient Chinese settlements, Indian temples, and white colonial buildings – Penang was settled by the British East India Company in 1786 – can all be glimpsed on an afternoon trip. Alongside Pinang Peranakan on any itinerary should be The Khoo Kongsi, the elaborate clan home that was also the location for, Anna and the King, the period film starring Jodie Foster, which features richly ornamented halls, houses and a theatre. Close by, vivid blue exteriors of the Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion jut strikingly against other white colonial buildings. Another must-see is clan jetties, of which the Chew Jetty is the longest, where stilted houses are built on water along the wooden ramp.

Hiring private cars is common among tourists, but a trishaw ride takes you to the sights up close and, if you are lucky, supplies personal recollections and recommendations from your driver. Tourists can dip and weave in and out of Saturday afternoon traffic (less busy than weekdays) around the well-preserved sites, sailing through the town’s quaint Chinatown section and through Little India, where Bollywood’s rhythmic tunes boom from speakers, stopping at points to sample local staples at food stands.

A Modern Face

However, Penang is not merely about looking back; culture spins just as close today as it did yesterday. Since being awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2008, Georgetown has welcomed new art and culture initiatives. Artist Ernest Zacharevic’s illustrative paintings of local daily life are daubed on buildings across town and kick-started a trend for public art that keeps a curious crowd of tourists and residents hunting new works.

“Before, people used to stay at home on weekends. Now, they have something to look for. It’s a lot busier these days,” says Lim, a trishaw driver.

On Armenian Street on Saturday evenings, a second-hand market displays goods on a grass bank while buskers strum and sing. Project Occupy Beach Street sees roads barricaded on Sunday mornings, freeing them for activities, such as rollerblading, Zumba, street markets and live music and performances. Traditional and contemporary arts are displayed every last Sunday of the month at the Little Penang market. All around these areas, little coffee shops are springing up next to traditional bakeries, like the Ming Xiang Tai Pastry Shop, which is still sought for its egg tarts.

Hawker Haven

At the centre of all of this is the food. Penang is a famous and undisputed centre of street food, drawn from the melting pot of ethnicities including Malays, Chinese and Indians that call the island home. Trawling stands and hawker centres as practised cooks ladle their steaming specialities into bowls puts a visitor smack-bang into the island’s continual and evolving melting pot of flavours and tastes. From the Laksas to the Nasi Lemak, Prawn Soups and Roti Canai, to Cendol Iced Desserts, visitors going home with empty stomachs will have missed half the experience.

Foodies can venture out of Georgetown to discover more culinary pleasures. A new hop-on, hop-off bus makes attractions shouldering Batu Ferringhi’s beaches an easy trip. About 45 minutes north of town, intoxicating scents fill the air at the Tropical Spice Gardens. Celebrated local cooks Rohana Turner and Pearly Kee share the secrets of Malay and Nyonya recipes amidst eight acres of lush gardens in hands-on classes that sell out and so should be booked ahead.

Lap of Luxury

At Shangri-La’s Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, Penang, a tropical idyll with chirpy, smiling staff and a laid-back island vibe, durian packages are highly desired. The spike-skinned fruit, adored across Asia and famed for its pungent-smelling pulpy flesh, originates in Balik Pulau, an area famous for its durian plantations. In season, between June to September, the hotel and its neighbour, Golden Sands Resort, Penang, offers an all-you-can eat package that presents many species of the locally grown fruit for endless sampling. The resort's excellent service and high quality dining experience certainly make it a tourists’ favourite, but it is also exceedingly popular among locals who enjoy the finer things in life.

Durians are a good excuse to stay on hotel grounds, but so is a sprawling pool shaded by 100-year-old rain trees the hotel built around to preserve, a stroll on the private beach and a trip to CHI, The Spa. A traditional Rasa Asmaradana massage of herbs, lemon grass and pandan leaf applied using age-old healing techniques and performed in a luxury villa seems a perfect way to sum up Penang – embracing tradition, yet inviting change.

Top tips for travelling to Penang

  • Beat the heat: Temperatures sizzle year round in Penang. Avoid becoming frazzled by sightseeing before 11 a.m. or after 3 p.m.
  • Taste tours: Days could be spent wandering hawker stalls, so plan ahead. The government produces a pamphlet on the many types of street food, but ask locals for their recommendations or consider taking a tour.
  • Explore: There’s more to Penang than Georgetown. Balik Pulau, known as “the other side of the island”, contains ancient fishing villages, mosques and temples, rice paddies and spice and goat farms, and can be reached by private car or toured by bicycle.
  • Safety first: There’s an abundance of parasailing operators around Batu Ferringhi’s beaches. Check safety credentials or ask your hotel for advice before booking, as some are unregulated.
  • Money matters: Bartering at markets is totally acceptable, with locals advising to begin haggling at half the suggested first sum. Tipping is not expected.

 

 Make a booking at Shangri-La’s Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, Penang Back to Destination 

There are no comments yet

 
 
To leave comments, you must be a Golden Circle member so sign in below. If you are not already a member, sign up now.
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.2755 s