Inner Circle

都市桃源

在班加罗尔,新旧的交替与融合如此和谐,令人感慨万千。

都市桃源
班加罗尔四处遍布了公园和休闲设施,植物种类丰富,包括本地及外来树种,在此温和的气候中茁壮成长。

初看之下,Lalbagh的巨石显得毫不起眼,此类Peninsular Gneiss地貌在这一带非常普遍。十六世纪,班加罗尔的创建者Kempe Gowda选择了这块巨石作为班加罗尔南部疆界的标志。他当时也并不知道这块巨石的秘密。这块看上去普普通通的巨石其实有30亿年的历史,几乎与地球同龄,宛若国家地质的纪念碑。

备受青睐的班加罗尔素以都市风貌、酒馆、公园和花园而闻名,这里既有闲适的生活节奏,又有繁忙嘈杂的交通,加之令人意料不到的无数小细节,共同构成了班加罗尔的独特风情,犹如Lalbagh的巨石一般引人入胜。

历史重温

如今的班加罗尔享有「印度硅谷」的美誉,其历史悠久的建筑和文化特色反而鲜为人知了。只要你细心探索,可以发现许多历史的足迹,其中以班加罗尔皇宫最为出名。该皇宫仿照英国的温莎城堡而建,占地广阔,规模巨大,许多国际音乐会常常于此举办。而距此300米之遥,即是班加罗尔香格里拉大酒店

该州的立法院Vidhana Soudha是Neo-Dravidian、Indo-Saracenic和Dravidian等许多建筑风格的大熔炉。另一历史建筑奇观是位于Chamrajpet的Tipu苏丹之夏宫,它如今已被改建成博物馆,向世人们展现了这位当地历史上最令人敬畏的统治者的生活缩影。如果时间充裕的话,建议你前往探索城中的各大宗教胜地,不但令人肃然起敬,景色也非常秀美。The Bull Temple是班加罗尔最古老、专为Nandi而建的寺庙。Nandi是神话中的一头白色公牛,据说它是湿婆神的坐骑。St Mary’s Basilica是班加罗尔最古老的教堂,每年九月这里会举办多姿多彩的活动。Masjid-e-Khadria虽然年份没有那么久远,却以其尖塔和书法而闻名。

班加罗尔香格里拉大酒店将健康与名胜古迹相结合,推出了饶有趣味的游览行程。你可以选择在健身教练的指导下,跑步穿越主要古迹,包括Indira Gandhi音乐喷泉公园、班加罗尔皇宫、Vidhana Soudha等。上午半日游程则让你有机会欣赏各座建筑的不同风格,然后在酒店的豪华阁贵宾廊享用丰盛的餐点。

花园派对

班加罗尔四处遍布了公园和休闲设施,植物种类丰富,包括本地及外来树种,在此温和的气候中茁壮成长。难怪班加罗尔被称为「花园之城」。当地人曾抱怨树木越来越稀疏,但每年春夏季,缤纷多彩的鲜花盛开,覆盖了全城的每座花园,让人感觉赏心悦目。

最主要的花园首推Lalbagh,由十八世纪统治者Hyder Ali开始兴建。他的儿子—著名的Tipu苏丹最终将花园建成。如今,这里拥有众多来自异国的稀有植物,还有仿造伦敦水晶皇宫而建的一座玻璃屋。

郁郁葱葱的库本公园位于班加罗尔市中心的心脏地带。这里的植物与鲜花繁盛,深受大自然爱好者的喜爱。库本公园还邻近许多博物馆和历史建筑,如Attara Kacheri高级法院等。如果你在周日前来,还可以看到许多剧目在此排练,人们悠闲地散步,小狗们则欢快地在草地上飞奔。

你既可以在公园和花园内享受悠闲时光,也可登记参加「漫步班加罗尔」活动,更深入体验多种风情。该活动由Vijay Thiruvady发起,参加者可于周末信步于城中各大热门胜地,如Lalbagh、库本公园等,零距离领略这些历史古迹鲜为人知的故事。这位古迹保存倡导者还举办各种私人座谈,对班加罗尔的军事历史有兴趣的印度籍人士还可提前注册,参加特别座谈会。(当然,出于安全原因考虑,唯有印度籍人士方可参加此座谈会。)

购物休闲

班加罗尔拥有许多富有趣致的精品小店,售卖各种装饰品、饰件和稀奇古怪的欧洲风格小玩意儿,甚至还有檀木制的手工艺纪念品等等。漫步于此,可发现许多风格古朴的店铺,售卖从纱丽到糖果等各种商品,而狭窄的Commercial Street则最适合集市淘宝爱好者。

班加罗尔的酒馆和啤酒坊也非常出名。周日之夜,何不去Indiranagar逛逛,那里有数间城中最热门的酒馆,如The Humming Tree、新的Hangover等。格调雅致的Monkey Bar提供印度风格的美食和鸡尾酒,而Toit 和Arbor则是品味手工制啤酒的最佳去处。回到班加罗尔香格里拉大酒店的HYPE屋顶露天酒吧,别忘了品尝这里著名的星座鸡尾酒,并尽情欣赏那美丽无边的夜色。

温馨贴士:

  • 班加罗尔香格里拉大酒店的Cafe Pastry提供地道的印度风味糖果,由传统Mithaiwala精心巧制。大堂酒廊的Chai Ki Tadi则是当地风格的丰盛下午茶。
  • 爱书者别错过Brigade Road上的Blossom Book House,在那里你可以找到许多平日里苦寻而不得的罕有书籍。
  • 有一整天时间游览吗?建议你驱车去Nandi Hills,从那里可以鸟瞰班加罗尔全城及周边地带的风景;你也可以去Banerghatta国家公园远足,尽情享受大自然。

 

 请即预订班加罗尔香格里拉大酒店 回到万种旅程 

未有留言

 
 
留言只限贵宾金环会会员,请先从以下登录。如你未成为会员,现在就登记入会
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.3193 s

Inner Circle

Urban Paradise

In Bengaluru, the old and the new co-exist in perfect harmony.

Urban Paradise
Bengaluru is dotted with parks and recreational spaces boasting local and exotic trees that thrive in its pleasant climate.

At first glance, Lalbagh’s grand rock might seem ordinary – Peninsular Gneiss formations like it are hardly unfamiliar to the region. Bengaluru’s founder, 16th century leader Kempe Gowda, chose the rock to mark the city’s southern boundary – he didn’t know its secret, either. This seemingly commonplace rock is over three billion years old, a National Geological monument almost as ancient as Earth, itself. 

The city, which still goes by its former name Bangalore, is loved and known for its cosmopolitan demographic, pubs, as well as parks and gardens. But Bengaluru, defined by its laid-back temperament as much as its volatile traffic, is sprinkled with delightfully unexpected details, much like the Lalbagh rock.

Slice of History

The city’s reputation as India’s Silicon Valley tends to overshadow its rich architectural and cultural past. However, history abounds in Bengaluru, beginning with the Bengaluru Palace. Built to replicate Windsor Castle, the palace – its expansive grounds doubling as a site for international concerts – is located a mere 300 metres from Shangri-La Hotel, Bengaluru.

Vidhana Soudha, the state’s legislate seat, is a melange of Neo-Dravidian, Indo-Saracenic and Dravidian architecture. Another historical monument, Tipu Sultan’s Summer Palace at Chamrajpet, has been renovated into a museum offering visitors a glimpse through the lives of one of the most revered rulers of the regions. If you have the luxury of time, explore the city’s religious sites that are both picturesque and sacred. The Bull Temple is Bengaluru’s oldest, dedicated to Nandi – a mythical white bull who acted as Lord Shiva’s vahana (vehicle). St Mary’s Basilica is the city’s oldest church, famous for its September festivities while the younger Masjid-e-Khadria is renowned for its minars and calligraphy.

Shangri-La Hotel, Bengaluru combines fitness with sightseeing to showcase these monuments in a new light. Embark on a running tour across major sites – Indira Gandhi Musical Fountain Park, Bangalore Palace and Vidhana Soudha – in the company of a health guide. A morning tour gives you an uncluttered view of the buildings, followed by breakfast at the Horizon Club Lounge.

The Garden Party

Bengaluru is dotted with parks and recreational spaces boasting local and exotic trees that thrive in its pleasant climate. It is little wonder that it has been nicknamed Garden City. Locals lament that the tree cover has diminished over the years, but come spring-summer, an explosion of colourful blossoms in gardens all across the city belies their complaints.

One of the most important is certainly Lalbagh, commissioned by the 18th century ruler Hyder Ali. His son, the famed Tipu Sultan, completed the garden, now home to exotic and rare botanicals and a glasshouse modelled on London’s Crystal Palace.

Nestled in greenery, Cubbon Park is often dubbed the city’s central lung. While its plants and flowers woo nature enthusiasts, the space is also in close proximity to museums and historical buildings like the Attara Kacheri (High Court). Come on a Sunday and you might find yourself watching a play practice or groomed pooches enjoying their day out at a get-together for dogs.

While a trip to these parks and gardens is always a pleasure for the senses, sign up with Bangalore Walks for a more involved experience. Run by Vijay Thiruvady, the weekend walking tours take you to popular destinations like Lalbagh and Cubbon Park, offering fresh perspectives and little known narratives about the landmarks. The conservationist also hosts private walks and Indian nationals interested in Bengaluru’s military history can sign up in advance for a special session (unfortunately, this is restricted to Indian nationals only for security reasons).

Guilty Pleasures

Bengaluru’s many charming boutiques are a shopaholic’s delight, with décor items and accessories, European-inspired knick knacks, even sandalwood and traditional souvenirs, among other interesting finds, on offer. A walk around areas like Malleswaram and Chickpet showcase old-fashioned shops selling everything from saris to sweets, while street shoppers prefer the narrow bylanes of Commercial Street.

The city is also known for its pubs and microbreweries. On a Saturday night, head to Indiranagar, which boasts some of the city’s hottest pubs like The Humming Tree or the new Hangover. The stylish Monkey Bar offers Indian-inspired food and cocktails, while Toit and Arbor are the places to check out if you’re in the mood for craft beer. Back at Shangri‑La Hotel, Bengaluru, Hype promises to add to the list of city hotspots with Zodiac-inspired cocktails and a spectacular panoramic view of the entire city.

Tips:

  • Shangri-La Hotel, Bengaluru’s b Cafe Pastry offers Indian sweets created by a traditional Mithaiwala. The Lobby Lounge’s Chai Ki Tadi is a local take on afternoon high tea.
  • Bibliophiles must visit Blossom Book House on Brigade Road. If there’s an elusive title on your wish list, there’s a good chance you will find it here.
  • Have a day to spare? Drive up to Nandi Hills for a hilltop view of Bengaluru and the surrounding areas, or go trekking at Banerghatta National Park.

 

 Make a booking at Shangri-La Hotel, Bengaluru Back to Destination 

There are no comments yet

 
 
To leave comments, you must be a Golden Circle member so sign in below. If you are not already a member, sign up now.
  • Queries: 0
  • Query Time: 0.0000 s
  • Overall render: 0.3015 s